Thursday, May 29, 2014

Acidity regulator - E270

Lactic Acid

 Alternate names E270
Acidity regulator, Preservative, Colour retention agent, Flavour enhancer
Product Uses:
Found in foods such as sweets, salad dressings, cakes, biscuits, ready to eat meat and poultry, wheat beers, sour milk and yoghurt, soft drinks, infant formulas, confectionary, pickled foods, tinned fruit and vegetables.
Occurs naturally in sour milk, apples, tomatoes and molasses. Food acid, acidity regulator; produced by heating and fermenting carbohydrates in potatoes, cornstarch or molasses. D- or DL-lactates (stereoisomers) should not be given to babies and small children, as they have not yet developed the appropriate enzymes in the liver to metabolise these forms of lactate; used in sweets, dressings, soft drinks (sometimes beer), infant formulas and confectionary. Lactic acid and lactates can be consumed by all religious groups, vegans and vegetarians. Although the name refers to milk, it is mot made from milk and thus suitable for people with milk allergy or lactose intolerance. No side effects in adults but avoid for very young babies as may be unable to metabolise.
 Is it harmful? 
Certain People

Please refer to the Food Additives Bible application for information about full list of dangerous colors, flavor enhancers, preservatives, emulsifiers, sweeteners, stabilizers, gelling agents and thickeners>

Opera Mobile Store


key words: certain people, preservative, health, wellness

No comments:

Post a Comment